Where does the extra money come from?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Default Where does the extra money come from?

I have been using Dave's steps for about 4 or 5 years now. I'll admit I got less gazelle intense for some of that time, and really didn't pay much attention to what I was spending. However, I did pay off all loans, credit cards, car loan, etc. We only have our house payment and usual things like utilities,etc. Right now I am going back and focusing on the big emergency fund. I will have that funded by the end of the year.

Here is my question.

I've thought a lot about the baby steps, and I've read the book probably 5 times (once a year).

Once you get past the debts, get your full emergency fund, and then start your 15% investment in mutual funds... well, what if that takes all the extra money you have? then you are supposed to fund the kids' college funds (with what?) and then you are supposed to pay off your house and then you supposedly have all this money to invest and give.

I don't see how that happens. Once you take the extra money you were using to pay off debt, and apply a lot of that towards your retirement fund, and then, let's say you even skip the college funding, you start paying your mortgage down. Ok, that might take 10 more years! So you can't even start on step 7.

And all during this time, I'm still living on the tight tight budget I set up to be able to do all of this...

I like controlling my money, but in reality, I don't see how I will ever really have any more money to spend than I do now, if I follow Dave's advice. Not for a long long time, and by then I'll be retired (I'm 49 now). Am I really going to be able to live on $40 a month of entertainment money and $100 a month grocery money for the next 10 years until I pay the house off?