Is it worth it to even try to convince someone?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Is it worth it to even try to convince someone?

I'm new to FV and have been browsing these threads. We are still working on BS1 and BS2, a little back and forth as things happen.

Had a conversation recently with in-laws about money. They completely agreed that debt is stupid and then they listed the "only" debts they had: the house payment, one card and a car payment. But the house payment had been refinanced several times to roll in another car payment, new siding, a new kitchen, and new carpet. The only card had another card or two rolled into it to get a better rate, and the car payment had the rest of the other older car payments rolled in to it.

They even had an inheritance that got spent on part of these improvements and other wants, rather than used to pay some things off and put into investments or at least emergency funds.

In their minds, they were being responsible and careful with their money. Yet they talk about how if even one source of income dries up, they are done for.

How do you convince them otherwise? Or do you even try?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

hand them dave rasmeys finanical peasce or total money makeover and let the book convince them .

i always say you cant force people to see it - but you can hand them the tools to see it and at least you know you did your best .
    *~Debbi~*
    Happily Married Mom to 5 ; PT Home Care RN
    Living with FMS

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more;
    Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours”
    Swedish Proverb

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Getting Gazelle like 7/1/10
    Paid off 6 CC's totalling $6807 in 2010
    Paid off car 9000
    Quit 2nd Job for health reasons so going slower .
    purchased used car in cash 5000
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug