To keep the car or let it go.
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default To keep the car or let it go.

Hi All!
    I'm a newbie to DR and I'm just starting out. I have a question on my car loan that I was hoping someone could help with. This is will be the first debt I will be paying off as I have no CC debt.I have a car loan at 16% for about $21,000 on a 2010 Malibu. I already have a full-time job but will be taking on a part-time job to get me through my baby steps.

My Question is....Since this is a somewhat newer car. Should I totally pay off the car which would take me about 2 years to pay off and then ride it the wheels fall off? OR do I pay off enough to keep me from being upside down on the loan and then sell it? I could most likely do this in about 6 months or less. I would then buy and drive a hooptie until the wheels fall off.

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated!!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

To me $21,000 is a huge debt for a disposable item. Of course, I've never in my life bought a new car!

I think you have to do a list of pros and cons as to which is the best way to go.

Do you have an emergency fund?

Do you have gap insurance since you're upside down on the car loan?

What are your goals for the next 5 years and how does the car loan factor into them?

Driving the vehicle until the tires fall off is not a bad idea except how soon will that happen after its paid for? You want time to save for a replacement vehicle before that happens.

What does your budget as a whole look like?

Its a good question but its hard to answer without a bigger picture of your finances.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Thanks for responding and the idea of the pros and cons list. To answer your questions:

Do you have an emergency fund? Yes. I have saved about $1500 and I add to it every month

Do you have gap insurance since you're upside down on the car loan? Yes