My Journey Through Life, One Baby Step At A Time
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Smile My Journey Through Life, One Baby Step At A Time

Good evening everyone!

I'm very happy to be here and this is my first post. I've been listening to DR since July of 2009 and been hooked ever since! I started out with over $100,000 of debt. This includes $80,000 in student loan debt, $22,000 for my brand new car loan, and over $5,000 in credit card debt. My annual income at the time was about $40k.

I married my DW in April of 2010 and that added another $6,000 car loan and $1,500 credit card debt to our overall debt. We listened to the TMMO audio book over 50 times while driving back and forth between states (at the time, she lived in MD and I live in PA). Our annual household income was $100,000.

- We cut up, paid off, and closed all of our credit card accounts.

- We paid off all of our car loans.

- My student loan debt is down to $71,000 now.

My DW took a year leave to permanently live with me in PA (she was a school teacher in MD and the one year leave is so that we have options in the future in case something goes wrong, and it can be extended to an additional year if need be). So we're down to my income only now, which gives us about $45,000 a year. We also want to have a baby so we're increasing our EF as a buffer against murphy and the expenses of having a baby. We have $2,390 in our EF right now which will grow to about $4,200 by the end of next month.

Our goal is to have $10,000 in the EF before we start attacking the student loan debt. My DW is getting her PA certifications and Praxis done this year so that she can try to find a job in PA next year. After our first baby, we plan on taking a year break and having one more afterwards. I've always thought two was the perfect number, but whatever God will give us, we'll be happy nonetheless.