child support as the only income
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Banned
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default child support as the only income

If you owe a debt and your only income is child support,(no job) can the creditors garnish those wages?

I did a search and the only thing I found was people that owe child support.

I typed another post, but because of the tags it would not let me post. (again)

Any info would be great and TIA.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Most states consider child support funds exempt from garnishment but you'll have to check your state law to see if your state is included. The clerk of the courts as well as a senior manager at your bank may be able to answer this.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Just my own personal opinion, but Child support, isn't "your" income, it's support for your children....So my logic tells me, that they can't take your children's money for your debt! But I have no legal or personal experience, just my own thoughts!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Same answer as above - local law may vary but I don't think so, but as stated - child support isn't your "income", it's specifically for the child's care afaik.
    If you could kick in the pants the person responsible for your problems, you wouldn't be able to sit for a month.

Did you know that a 4 year student paying $20,000/year who finances their education graduates with over $103,000 in debt to start? But a student who works and pays cash and takes 6 years to graduate ends with $6,300 in their pocket! So much for "getting a head start by financing!"

Greebo
    (Nerd Spender): Loving and extremely patiently tolerated husband of ceashels.
    WARNING: Y Chromosome behind the keyboard. Adjust your listening filters appropriately!

Three
    Two mortgages, two one no car loans, one no credit cards, and a partridge in pear tree!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug