why rubber pants are tearing????
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default why rubber pants are tearing????

I've been using cloth diapers on DD for about 2 months now in order to save money. The problem is that her rubber pants are developing tears or rips in odd places. Any idea why?? I always hang them up to dry and wash them on the delicate cycle, using no bleach or fabric softener. I usually just hand wash them as soon as i change her and only run them through the wash when there's poop on them. Anyone else ever have this problem?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I used cloth on both my kids years ago and I was going to suggest everything your already doing. No bleach and line dry. Could the pins be rubbing holes? If you are line drying them in the sun maybe this is causing them to break down quicker. Try hanging indoors.

Not many choices when I was diapering kids years ago but maybe try a different brand of rubber pants and see if they last longer.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Depends on where it's rubbing thin/ripping.

Is it in the area of the pins? Is your lil one wearing pants with thick inseams? Could it be the cloth pins? Are the legs too small? Too big?

I know I used rubber pants when DD was 'in training' and they were going thin on the sides and along the backside.
    I can't be out of money... I still have checks left!

Momma to the Diva
    Old Lady to the Old Man
    My Blog: http://frugaldomesticgoddess.wordpress.com

Making Yule
    Samantha x2 (1/2)
    Christopher x2
    Mom x2
    Larry x1
    Dave x1
    OldMan x5
    Diva x11 (1/11)

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I used vinyl pants. More expensive but last a lot longer.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

~No answers for you except that I used Motherease air flow covers and they are worth every penny. They lasted through 5 years of diapering and I was able to pass them on to someone else.~

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug