Frugal Village Forums banner

Just when I feel good, Murphy hits!

3K views 23 replies 15 participants last post by  misscas 
#1 ·
Well, lets face it.. I'm not good with money.
But... I'm better than I was 6 months ago. 90% better than I was a year ago! My financial situation is my own fault. However. I have taken a lot of steps to correct these faults and am/was doing good until last night.
Heres the story...
I have back bills on my lights,gas,phone,mortgage. then add in gas to get back and forth to work,car insurance,groceries and tobacco and tubes to roll our own cigs..
I called and made doable payment plans with everyone and have been doing great. I meal plan and only buy what I need for the week and only allow $100 a week for groceries (that includes TP,cat litter,cat food,ect) I have no extra money left at the end of the month but that's ok with me. As long as I can pay down the monthly bills. And it's only for 3 months.After that I'll be caught up and I'll feel a huge lift and have some $$ for the savings every month.
So, I'm happy with all the above. I was comfortable not shopping and having a strict budget.
But then Murphy came last night. :(
I get home from work, everything was fine. DH went to visit his cousin and calls me to ask if the windshield wipers and turn signals were working when I drove home. I think they were working... I didn't try the wipers so I'm not sure but they worked yesterday...
The turn signals.. I think they were working. I think I'd notice if I didn't hear the "click click click" sound they make when they are on... The fuses are fine.
Now mind you, I have NO EXTRA $$ for 3 MONTHS.
Today, I called my brother in SC who's a mechanic and he thought it's my switch. I tried to find a "how to fix it" answer online last night and found everything to say the same.. the switch.