Frugal Village Forums banner

Food Banks? Richmond VA

3K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Syn D 
#1 ·
Hi

i wanted to know how the food bank works?
has anyone in richmond ever used a food bank?

is it wrong to collect there and see what the churches offer? is it wrong to go to several different places and collect stuff the same day??

i am waiting on social services..the interview is the 9th of Nov with a decision dated 20th of Nov i have called twice and left msgs for expedited services..no return calls as of yet.

i have food i have some cash..but i dont want to use the cash i have and not be able to have gas for job hunting and kids school or whatever comes up, plus i can try and pay a small amount on bills. then whatever i am not able to get at the food banks i could go purchased if it was a must.

i have never relied on any service...so i am new to this..not sure i really want to

#2 ·
I don't live in your area, but I used to volunteer at a large food pantry in St.Louis (I loved it...but, I had to find a paying job ;) ) I would say it is morally wrong to go to several pantries in one day if you do not really need to. At the pantry I worked at, clients were only allowed to visit every two weeks. You might want to see if the pantries in your area have a time period between visits.

#3 ·
thanks

see i have never done it and just dont know whats right..i guess if i have food i should use what i have but i think i have a fear of running out...and with no money coming it yet..im a little stressed but trying not to show it and making plans to make things work.

#4 ·
Good luck. I haven't used a food bank either so can not offer any advice or experience.