Frugal Village Forums banner

What should I do?

2K views 14 replies 14 participants last post by  Judi Dial 
#1 ·
I was wondering if I could get some advice on what I should do about reducing my credit card debt. I currently have a pension sitting in an account with a previous state employer. My credit card debt is $5,500. Should I empty that account, knowing I will incur all the tax penalties (20% to federal and another 10% penalty) to pay that off completely, I've been making minimum payments for 3 years on it and I don't see any other way to get rid of the credit card debt. After all my tax penalties on my pension pulling it out will be around $6,000 that I will have to use.

Would it be better to roll that pension money over into an IRA or Roth IRA tax free and keep trying to chip away the credit card debt? I was wondering what you would do?

#2 ·
Greebo is the best person to answer questions like this. Welcome to Frugal Village! :)

#6 ·
Bullocks. M-C did a perfect job.

#3 ·
The FIRST thing you should do is make a budget. Taking a 30% (and actually it'll be more like 40%) hit on retirement funds would only make sense to avoid foreclosure.
A budget, on the other hand, will allow you to see where your money is going every month, and make you aware of areas you could cut back on to pay down the CC debt. Do you continue to put things on the CC - or are you serious about getting rid of it? Maybe you need a temporary second job?
Many people post their budgets here - and while we can be blunt at times, we'll always be honest and truly try to HELP you. Willing to try it??

#5 ·