Frugal Village Forums banner

Looking for Advice re: Credit Cards

3K views 17 replies 12 participants last post by  Anna43 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I am a long-time lurker here but this is my first time posting. I hope that I am putting this message in the right place!

I don't know if my family would be considered to have "financial hardship" but we do struggle and definitely live paycheck to paycheck.

The advice I am looking for is about credit card debt. We have about $8,000 worth of cc debt (wow...it's so hard to even admit that!) Since I have recently gotten a small raise at work, I feel that the time is right to start seriously trying to pay it down.

So I have been trying to think of ways that I can get the cards paid off. I know that when I get my tax return this year I can use that, but I'm trying to do what I can in the meantime. We don't go on vacation, eat out, buy lunch, etc. Most of our income goes towards bills and food (and our property taxes just went up...oh joy! lol)

Does anyone have any advice they could offer so that I might "find" some exta cash to put towards the debt? And what do you think is a realistic timeframe to have it paid off?

Thank you so much for reading my post!

See less See more
#3 ·
Well, we have one of those "disposable" type cell phones for emergencies only. It's about $10 a month. I also have a work cell so if I have to make any calls related to my job, I use that. (I know it's hard to believe in this day and age, but we don't text and we rarely even talk on the phone...lol)

The cable bill is a good idea...I don't know why I didn't think of that before. I know that in our area you need to have some kind of cable hookup or else you can't get any channels but I can probably get just a basic plan. We don't have any premium channels or anything like that.

I have stopped using the CCs since I got my little raise. That's why I figured the time is right to get serious about paying them off. :)

Thank you for your response! :)