Frugal Village Forums banner

Dear Friends It is Official....

4K views 26 replies 11 participants last post by  HappyMama 
#1 ·
Dear Friends,

Sorry for my long absence. Hope some remember me!! I came back to give an update, thanks, and pep talk to those who need it.

I am no expert by any means and what has worked for my family might not work for others. We all have our own needs, budgets, life choices, hobbies or family choices. So onward and upward, keep trying and you will succeed.

Had to announce just bought another house ( large Victorian brick a priority for me if I was to move) debt free for cash. We have had to do some fixing up on it ( pipes, new boiler, new hot water heater put in, new to us custom Cherry cabinets made by the Amish). We do have to sell our Gothic brick Victorian but have lots of equity, owe very little and had a few offers before but didn't want to sell. I love love love my old house and will be sad when we do finally move to the other but we could not pass up this opportunity for my family to have a paid off home.

Our new house does need work and we have been pouring lots of time, sweat equity and craigslist time finding wonderful new treasures to fix up our new beauty. It is beautiful and I like it but not to romanticize it... cause it does need work...LOL We are doing it ourselves. It was a forclosure, that sold previous for 180,000. My heart and prayers go out to any who have lost their homes and I would never have bought a foreclosure if the people were still there and wanted to stay. This had been empty for two years so someone was going to buy it and get a deal myswell been me. I negotiated with GOV. and won. Keys in hand the remodeling begins.