Frugal Village Forums banner

Can older children get croup?

8K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  cheles2kids 
#1 ·
Can older children get Croup? DD started off with just seemed like a cold runny nose etc. Now she has a barky cough, and it is way worse at night. I know she used to get croup alot when she was under 3 ( I used to have to walk outside with her around the block alot) but I don't think I have ever heard of a seven year old with it.

#2 ·
I'm sure it can, especially if she's a kid who had croup a couple of times before.

Google 'croup' and click on the mayo clinic site. They had some good info. It could be viral or bacterial. If it's bacterial, you may need an antibiotic.

I'd say, as a nurse, I'd get some steam going in your house. When she has a real crouping jag, take her in the bathroom and turn a hot shower on. Let her sit on the toilet seat and inhale the steam. But you probably know that from experience......

Reactions: Rhiamon
#3 ·
Yes even adults can get croup especially if they have had problems in the past. My DS has asthma and he still gets croup occasionally.

#4 ·
I got the croup every time the seasons changed until I had my first child so older people can definately get the croup. My DS#2 got it several times a year until he was 12 or 13. My Mom always did the steam with me but it didn't work with DS#2. With him the cold air always worked better then the steam.

#5 ·
Yep...my 14 yo DS has croup as we speak...he is asthmatic as well. I had just asked a friend of mine if older kids still get it! Hope she feels better! My "baby" feels so cruddy!

#9 ·