Been gone for a long while but I'm back ready to change my family's future
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Been gone for a long while but I'm back ready to change my family's future

I've been a member here for a while but I haven't been posting much in the past 2.5 years. I went back to school to get my Associate Degree in Nursing and I am proud to say that I worked my tail off and I graduated with a 4.0. I took my state boards on Tuesday and yesterday I found out that I passed. I am officially a Registered Nurse!!!!

Unfortunately, during the past years we haven't been diligent in our spending, lots of credit cards got racked up. I am in the process of job hunting and I can't wait to get a nursing job in a hospital. I am ready to start over and get rid of all this debt. I talked with hubby the other day and WE agreed that it would be best for us to live like "poor people" for another few years, pay off all credit card debt, build up an emergency fund (our heater/ac is over 20 years old, as is his car) and to pay off all student loans. Then after 2 years of living poor, we can live like we want to (within reason)

I am looking forward to getting my garden going this year (I live in Ohio, have to wait until May) and start to do more cooking from scratch. I will be working with hubby to get our post nursing school budget in order and working the TMMO Baby Steps.

I need encouragement and to be held accountable, so please don't hold back. I am willing to make changes for my family so we can live a better future and show our kids that hard work does pay off.

Thanks
    Lisa

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Congratulations!!! I am about to finish my second semester of an associate RN program. 2 more to go and I will be where you are! I totally understand the debt, we are living on my husband's salary, my student loans and barely hanging on. Like you, I can't wait to get a job and start digging out! Good luck in the job hunt!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug