Exploding Corelle anyone?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Exploding Corelle anyone?

I was reading online (first mistake) about the potential for disaster with Corelle dinnerware, in that people are saying it can explode without warning. Has anyone experienced such a thing?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Anything you cannot relinquish when it has outlived its usefulness possesses you.” -Mildred Lisette Norman

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I have been using Corelle for almost 37 years; it has never exploded, but it has shattered when falling or hitting it on the faucet.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Yes. We had a set of dishes when we were first married 20 years ago. One of the bowls shattered into tiny pieces after I microwaved some oatmeal in it. We threw the rest of the set away.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I've been using Corelle for over 30 years. I've broken a few pieces mainly by banging the edges of the plates against something. I did have one cereal bowl sort of explode as I was taking it out of the cupboard. I think it had to do with friction as I sort of scraped it against the bowl underneath it as I took it out. It went into a million pieces with some force. I certainly did not throw away all the dishes due to one freak incident. Nothing is 100% fool proof and stuff happens.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Have used Corelle for ages and never had any problem of any kind. Use them in the micro LOTS.........even dropped one in the sink and it didn't break.
    HARDY STUFF!!

I was reading about some people having trouble with Pyrex though...........sounds like it is the new stuff........... that let's me out.......mine is old!!
    It was the same type of thing quoted for the Pyrex.......exploding.........hmmmm.............maybe we should fact check it.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug