Have an urge to throw in the towel
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Have an urge to throw in the towel

I want to throw in the towel on this consumerism, debt and the 40-50 hour work week for a better life.
    Since I am a nurse by training ( although I work in management now) I could probably take some travel assignments and work wherever I want. In fact, every year the urge to travel and be a nomad hits me. The urge is strong to get an RV/ camper van and live out of it, selling all this crap I have in my house. I am sure many of my family members would think I am insane. Maybe I can get there someday with a little planning.

I guess really what I am wanting is to give up the consumerism or the must haves. I have officially declared war on consumerism and want to stop the purchase of anything not needed. In fact, I am dreading the fact that I didn't plant a garden so I could have my own vegetables and need one less thing from the supermarket.

Anyone feel the same way?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

at times I totally do. I find it very empowering when overcome by things to just declare loudly and with feeling "I QUIT!!" It feels so good. Keep in touch - while these feelings may abate, you may decide to take off in an RV - and decide you totally love it!!
    No spend days: J 9/16
    Monthly exercise: J 165/930
    Monthly savings: J-202, F-186,M-170,A-154, M-137, J-118, J-102, A-86, S-70, O-54, N-38, D-28

“Decluttering isn't just simplifying your life. It's having a vision, setting new priorities and using those notions to get rid of obstacles.”
    — Peter Walsh

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Yup ~ Started officially in January 2009 after returning from a week-long cruise with 4 girlfriends. I watched these 3 spend with reckless abandon on the craziest stuff.