Cost of camping in the US?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Cost of camping in the US?

Please tell me about camping in the US! I'm brand new to camping and I'm curious about costs, facilities, etc. back home.

It's about $40/night to camp here in Denmark, including shower facilities and a kitchen area, but no electric hook-up.

100% Debt Free.... home, car & credit cards.
    Blogging the simple life at: www.sageandsimple.com

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I think you will find it is much less in the US, private campgrounds are generally more than public (state parks, etc.). We have not been in a while, used to go tent camping and generally paid around $15 a night.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I'm not sure about all over but I know the county campground right down the road is only $18 a night. We havent camped much in the last few years but we rarely paid over $20 a night when we did.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

It varies greatly.

Dispersed camping on public lands such as BLM land or some Forest Service land is free. I think some state forests have free dispersed camping, too.

Rustic campgrounds are less expensive than campgrounds with more amenities, generally speaking.

Public campgrounds (government) are almost always less expensive than private campgrounds. Public campgrounds include national parks and recreation areas, state parks and recreation areas, US Forest Service, state forests, Army Corps of Engineers campgrounds, and probably some I'm forgetting. All of them have websites that list fees if you're curious about a specific park or area. Many of their websites also offer pictures of their campsites.