Frugal Village Forums banner

Want to quit my job

1K views 16 replies 17 participants last post by  Opal 
#1 ·
I am looking to simplify my life, save up some buffer money over the next few months (we are a strong double income family), and downgrade to a less demanding job :fyi:. I am up at 5am, out the door by 6:30pm, and home maybe 12 hours later. It's insane, I have no life, and would like to enjoy my children before they're gone! (teens)

How did you hear about frugal village? Googled "frugal"

What interests you here? Saving on groceries/food

Do you know any other members here? no

How many kids? Ages? two teens

Tell us about yourself. I am a professional, managing a sales office. I work too much, and would like to make less and enjoy life more.

Do you own any pets? cat

SAHM or Working mom? working

Married or single? married

Interests and hobbies? cooking, spirituality, knitting and crochet when I can, along with reading.

See less See more
#3 ·
:cowwave: from Florida!

I completely understand how you feel. I don't work long hours like you but I would like to simplify more and cut down too. I have a plan to be Mortgage free in 5-7 years and then I would like to go part-time.

Glad you're here!

#7 ·
welcome from Canada

#8 ·
:welcome: and I am sure you would do just fine with downgrading, good luck!

#12 ·
Hello there! I am quitting my job as well! :yippee:

I am going to take about a month off, then start a new job with a LOT less responsibility and stress. Naturally, this means a lot less money as well (I'll be going from $115,000 to around $60,000/yr) but with the help of this site I have changed my spending habits so that I'll end up saving more than I did before!

And even more importantly, I'll get my LIFE back! :vibes:

Best of luck to you; I'm sure it will all work out great... and your kids will definitely appreciate it. My mom died last year and I am so grateful for all the time she chose to spend with us while we were growing up. :)

#15 ·