Frugal Village Forums banner

Computers and Tax Rebate Checks/Stimulus Checks

4K views 20 replies 19 participants last post by  acidcookie 
#1 ·
Hey ya'll... this is Jason here... just using my fiancee's account to post one warning message for those of you considering buying computers with your tax rebate and/or stimulus checks.

I am a Computer Repair Technician at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base... computers are my job, hobby, skill, and life. It's what I do... it's who I am.

Now... I've seen many people all over the internet talking about using their rebate/stimulus checks to buy new computers. THIS CAN BE A VERY BAD IDEA!!!!

I will explain:

Microsoft (Bill Gates and Co.) have recently released "Windows Vista"... which... putting it mildly... is a piece of sh!t. If you buy a new computer, you will be getting this nightmare of an OS (Operating System).

Most people these days, buy a P.O.S. from Wally-world (Wallmart). VERY, VERY BAD IDEA. Those computers, while cheap in price, will not last longer than 2 years... I will stake any amount of money on that one.

Those who don't buy a computer from wally-world... are getting ripped off by BestBuy, CompUSA, and/or Staples or any other computer company. The computers they are selling for $700 to $1500, are computers I can throw together from parts for less than $400... INCLUDING LABOR!

Now that I've torn the computer industry down to the ground... let me throw a few recommendations out there to help get the best bang for the buck.

1.) Shop around at e-tailers such as http://www.tigerdirect.com and http://www.newegg.com (there are others... but these two I've dealt with personally and can highly recommend)