Frugal Village Forums banner

Cardiolyte stress test, anyone had one?

3K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  DJ1972 
#1 ·
I am scheduled for a cardiolyte stress test on Thursday the 8th. Being a nurse, I have scheduled many of these for other patients, told them what to do prior, etc., but I have never had one personally, so I am curious. If you have had one, what was it like for you?

#2 ·
I stressed about mine that I had last spring.
It went good though. The image part of it was a piece of cake.

They thought the thread mill part of mine was a bit borderline, but the image part canceled that out. I am currently going to the heart doctor every 6 months now for a blood work check up. My father died from a heart attack, so I am thinking, they want to track me now. That and my husband has excellent insurance. Because if I did not have insurance, I would never of had the stress test done.

Reactions: DJ1972
#3 ·
They will push you on the treadmill part, but not to collapse or anything. I think you need to be able to walk the tread for about 15-20 mins for them to get a good reading on the heart function. The imagining part is easy. The only thing is having to wait 30- 45 mins for the dye to go thru your whole body. Bring something to do or read.

#4 ·
At first I was thinking this was a non stress-stress test ( a chemical one.....?) I had one a few years ago, not sure what it was called but it was a stress-stress test....:lol: . I had the I.V. stuff beforehand and was stressed on the treadmill and then had some pics taken after a while like the above posters said. It wasn't so bad, just getting winded like having to walk up hill fast for some silly reason like you're car is about to be towed away or something....snork. You'll do fine ;).

#5 ·
I perform Cardiolite(Sestamibi) stress tests for a living. Here is the procedure: