Zote vs Fels Naptha
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Zote vs Fels Naptha

The walmart near us carries both of them. I think Fels is about 5 oz and Zote is 14, but they're both the same price. Does it matter which one I use in my laundry recipe? Does anyone prefer one over the other?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I myself have only used the Fels Naptha for making dry and liquid laundry detergent. I've not see the Zote soap before around here. Wonder if its a local thing?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I think it must be, because I've never seen it before we moved here. I just opened up the zote and had a good look and I'm not sure how well it's going to work for the dry laundry soap. It's a lot softer and it probably won't grate well. I might try to make the liquid type, I guess. I've never done that before.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I've used the Zote before in the dry homemade laundry soap...worked fine for me. I just cut up the soap into small blocks and shredded it up in an old food processor. I've found Zote, (cheaper than Fels Naptha), in several stores in my area-North Alabama, but had a hard time finding the Fels Naptha...go figure. lol

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I prefer Fels Naptha for making laundry detergent. For some reason the Zote left an odd film in my washing machine. I didn't use the whole bar because it was so much larger by weight. I've been using the leftover part of the bar as a spot/stain remover and it works wonders, especially on bloodstains. I just wet the corner and rub it into the stain. It works so well, and I've been using that same piece of a bar for going on two years. I won't make any more detergent with it but will always keep it around as a stain remover.
    Erika

married to my love since 1989
    mom of 3 amazing adults that grew up WAY too fast.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Never heard of Zote soap - but it's good to hear that it works well on stains!! Love the name!!
    No spend days: J 9/16