Testimony on Farm life...
    Heather Bob
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Thumbs up Testimony on Farm life...

~~by Janice...taken from The Dollar Stretcher

My husband was a dairy, hog, and grain farmer until 1976. He is now 70 years old and semi-retired. He had a heart attack, heart bypass surgery, pacemaker implant and a serious stroke all in 2001. We had four children between 1957 and 1964. I stayed at home until the youngest went to first grade. During those years, I saved all that I could while my husband bought farm machinery, etc. and we were paying on our 120 acre farm. It wasn't easy, but we never went without the essentials.

When our youngest started first grade, I started my very first class at our local college. Yes, I borrowed a bit of money to pay for the college courses. We absorbed the money for gas for the car, textbooks, etc. out of the farm income. Four years later, I graduated with a B.S. in Education, but there were no jobs available. I took a teacher's aid job with the school system where my children went to school. Within 3 months, I had a job taking over during a maternity leave. I went to graduate school while teaching and earned a MS in Education. I continued my teaching career until 2 years ago when I retired.

During the 26 years that I worked, my husband continued to take care of the family expenses. We started buying homes for rental property out of my teacher's pay (always making more than the minimum payments). We also bought our vehicles out of the teacher's pay and built on a large addition to our country home. I must stress that we couldn't have done it if I didn't have my husband's support. We worked together.