Frugal Village Forums banner

Marketing Tips from Successful Crafters

2K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  homesteadmamma 
#1 ·
From the feedback I have been getting in the short time since I started TheArtfulCrafter, I've learned that many of my readers are working long and hard at their crafts, but still are having a hard time realizing success.

I don't pretend to have all the answers. There is just too much going on for one person to be able to solve all your problems. However, let's break it down into two parts and then try to apply basic business solutions to each part.

The Product

I'm a pretty good cook. I've won awards from my local culinary arts society and have even been invited to give a lesson or two. However, when I try to make a new recipe, especially from some of the most popular food and lifestyle magazines, I am usually very disappointed. Why? In my opinion it is because something is usually missing, either from the ingredients or the instructions.

Now you're saying to yourselves, "what's this got to do with anything?" Well, most crafters are constantly searching books, magazines and web sites for free patterns. Like the "free recipes" noted above, however, I think something is always missing. Simply put, the best crafters are not going to give away their best designs for nothing. Much of what you get for free can be helpful, but only as a starting point.

You would not be reading this article if you weren't interested in selling your craft. Now put yourself in the buyer's position. Is she seeing the exact same craft made over and over again made by different people at the same show? If she is, the only reason she will buy from you is if your price is lowest.