Frugal Village Forums banner

not going back to commerical detergent

15K views 62 replies 37 participants last post by  onencgirl 
#1 ·
I made homemade laundry detergent and I am so happy with it that I am not going back to commerical detergent again.
I can already tell that I have saved $$ cause I usually buy detergent every month. Well, 2 months have gone and I still have lots of my homemade laundry detergent. It has gotten out old stains.
I used the following:
1 bar Fels Naptha grated
2 cups of Borax
2 cups of Washing soda.

I use it as a powder. Keep it in a container. I used 2 tablespoons for my top loader washing machine.
I use white vinegar in my rinse cycle.
I am a nurse and get some "weird" stains.....blood, urine, poop, vomit, and anything else when it comes to working in the ER.
My uniforms look great.

#36 ·
I am bumping this post because it has almost been a year when I declared no more commercial soap.
I am still making my own soap. I make a lot of it so I don't run out. My clothes are soft, clean and no odors. I have no fading and my clothes don't look dingy or old looking. I will continue to make it. Also, my daughter in college only uses this HM laundry detergent.
I have saved a lot of $$ as I don't need to go down that laundry aisle anymore.

#37 ·
I have always used powder and then made it into a liquid right before I did laundry. I finally made a batch of liquid. I am loving it. It is so nice to just do a load of clothes and not worry about making sure the soap is made into a liquid. I bought some bayrum essential oil and I am thinking of adding a few drops to the next batch of laundry soap to make it smell way yummy.

#40 ·