Frugal Village Forums banner

not going back to commerical detergent

15K views 62 replies 37 participants last post by  onencgirl 
#1 ·
I made homemade laundry detergent and I am so happy with it that I am not going back to commerical detergent again.
I can already tell that I have saved $$ cause I usually buy detergent every month. Well, 2 months have gone and I still have lots of my homemade laundry detergent. It has gotten out old stains.
I used the following:
1 bar Fels Naptha grated
2 cups of Borax
2 cups of Washing soda.

I use it as a powder. Keep it in a container. I used 2 tablespoons for my top loader washing machine.
I use white vinegar in my rinse cycle.
I am a nurse and get some "weird" stains.....blood, urine, poop, vomit, and anything else when it comes to working in the ER.
My uniforms look great.

#2 ·
I need to give this another chance. About 10 years ago, when people 1st started taking an interest in the HM det., there were some girls who sold it on-line before the recipe became known. Well, I sent away for a 5-load free sample, and found my clothes to be very dingy. That's not what I'm hearing from anybody now though.

I got about 4 bottles of detergent left. Maybe, I'll give this another try.

Thanks for the post!

Theresa :)

#3 ·
~I love HM detergent too! I use the Dugger's Recipe posted here on FV but I use Zote instead of Fels Naptha. It smells great and Grainlady says it has optical brighteners so that's why I went with it over the FN.
I think it's amazing at getting out bodily fluid stains too. I'm struggling a bit with grease stains. I think I'll have to make up a pre-treater just for grease.
After I used the HM detergent for a month or so I was amazed at how soft our clothes became. Did you notice that too?~

#5 ·
K, this is probably going to sound like a stupid question...but when you say grated...do you mean like grating cheese to where it comes off grater like shredded cheese? Feel silly asking.

#7 ·