Kids' healthy meals they like
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Kids' healthy meals they like

Hi all,
    I have a one and a half year old that is an absolute delight. He's not too much of a picky eater but I am not very good at coming up with good ideas for healthy meals for him. He loves pasta and I put freshly cooked veggies in that, which he'll eat. I want to rotate a variety of meals for him but I am short on ideas. I just found a healthier recipe for mac and cheese and I want to get away a little bit from chicken nuggets and hot dogs. He does not like avocadoes.
    What have you fed your young ones that is healthy, not processed too much and they enjoyed it?
    Thanks.
    Mea.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

cheese slices and bananas w/ peanut butter (if not allergic obviously),1/2 grapes,pears. I always made sandwiches small in squares cut. I kinda didn't worry about eating or messes either. Maybe a slice of good lunchmeat? I used to put a bunch of stuff on the tray and "walk" away. I could still see him but I wanted him to think HE was in control. KWIM.
    I am not a big fan of nuggets or hot dogs for little guy. Could you cook a whole breast,chunk it,give him some and freeze the rest.
    We went to the fruit market on Sat. MY dd got to try 1 new fruit or veg every time. She then held her prize all thru the market as I shopped. We went home and spread a blanket on the floor to try our new "prize w/ the rest of lunch.

McD
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Quesadillas--whole wheat tortillas filled with shredded cheese, microwave for 30 second. To get Wesley to eat this I told him it was a grilled cheese cooked Dora Style.

Tilapia--very easy. Bake for 30 minutes with a bit of lemon juice/olive oil on it. Serve with fresh veggies.

Rice with veggies and chunks of grilled chicken

I got Wesley to eat a spinach salad by telling him that we were eating tree stars like the dinosaurs on The Land B efore Time.
    McD
    -wife to Z