Meatballs with mixed meats?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Meatballs with mixed meats?

I am an awful cook - this is one of the reasons I joined FV. I want to learn how to cook better meals so we don't eat out as often.

One of the few things I can make is pasta sauce. Now I would like to move on to adding some meatballs. I want to know if I can make meatballs using a mix of ground beef, ground turkey and ground chicken? I would rather bake my meatballs than frying in a pan (I think you fry them in a pan?) Can you use a meatball recipe but use the meat mixture instead of just all beef?

(it's ok if you laugh at me while reading this, I know I really should know how to make at least meatballs by now - feeling pathetic)

Registered User pollypurebred39's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Yes, you can use mixed meats. Yes, any meatball recipe. As far as frying your meatballs, some fry, some bake and some plop raw meatballs into simmering sauce. It's all what you prefer really.

Here's a really great recipe

Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe - Food.com - 92095

This one's good too

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/the-bes...ls/detail.aspx

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Yes, you can absolutely used mixed meats in your meatballs. I bake mine in the oven, less grease.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

thank you for the suggestions. If I bake them do i just put them on a regular cookie sheet?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Some people brown the outsides in a fry pan and then bake them on a cookie sheet to get them cooked the rest of the way through.

And, why would we laugh at you? I still really don't know how to make meat balls. I am 40 years old (almost 41).
    Beak-1996, Toad-1998, and Q-1998
    House payments left: 1 2

Registered User pollypurebred39's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

When I make large amounts of meatballs I will bake them. I lightly oil a baking sheet and bake in the oven on 350' I turn them halfway through.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug