Frugal Village Forums banner

InDiAnNa's Grocery and Finance Thread

3K views 38 replies 12 participants last post by  homesteadmamma 
#1 ·
Righty. I'm still a relative newbie to the site, but I'd like to follow example and start my own thread where I can keep myself accountable and document my new frugal skills. Grab a cuppa before reading on, it's long! ;)

I have set myself challenges and budgets all of which I'll keep track of here.

A little history: I am a heavily depended on veterinary nurse for a large company, but in July I was hospitalized with a so far unexplained neurological condition which has caused me to lose most of the feeling in my arms, hands, legs and feet. Due to many other factors of this condition and the high level of responsibility my role carries, I have not been back to work since July, and it looks set to stay this way for quite a while.

Having gone from living on two decent salaries (future DH's and mine combined), we're now struggling a little on just his and my extremely low sick pay (about one quarter of my previous take home monthly pay). We had to give up our previous rental property and move into a smaller, cheaper place. Now we are properly settled there, I'm giving myself a boot up the bum and 'getting sorted'.

FDH pays the majority of our monthly expenses for rent, groceries, internet and landline (all other utilities are included in our rent), and I use some of my sick pay to slowly pay off my personal debt and into our savings.

Here goes:

GROCERIES

My budget for groceries, tp, toiletries, pet food, everything per month is £80. That's for the three of us, me, Craig and Martha the cat.