Berkey filters iron and sulfur?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Berkey filters iron and sulfur?

Does anybody having horrible iron and sulfur problems have experience with Berkey water filters?

Did it take out the sulfur and iron?

How long did your filters last?

Which model do you have?

Backwoodsgirl

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Well, since nobody responded I reckon nobody else has experience with the horrible water we do here and using a Berkey water filter on it.

So, rainwater is going to end up being our water source. Lots and lots of barrels of rain water and a large Berkey water filter.

Backwoodsgirl

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Gotta amend that...going to make my own table top water filter. It's cheaper, I can get a bigger container and add a spigot.

Backwoodsgirl

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I have been looking at the Berkey but they can't ship to Cali!! I've heard good things about it but I have no experience with it! I remember reading a post on a prepping site that talked about different water filters, if I remember where I saw it I'll post a link for you!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Quote Originally Posted by calimomx2 View Post
    I have been looking at the Berkey but they can't ship to Cali!! I've heard good things about it but I have no experience with it! I remember reading a post on a prepping site that talked about different water filters, if I remember where I saw it I'll post a link for you!
    I found this:

Monolithic Marketplace — The Just Water, Bucket Water Filtration System

They have instructions for making your own homemade Berkey!!!!

So, after doing a little more research, I also found out that you can use just about any ceramic filter with two food grade 5 gallon buckets and a spigot.