Budgets for Servers?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Budgets for Servers?

Hey all,
    I am new to FV...but I must say I love it! Ever since I was a teen I was a workaholic and frugal as can be!

Anyways...I am newlywed and would love to start a budget so I can get more organized with our finances. However I find it very difficult because I am a Server therefore I do not get a paycheck and money each week varies. Sometimes I make 400-500 a week sometimes 200-300. Also my husband is unemployed and gets checks and sometimes works for cash with a construction business so his money contribution varies too. So does anyone have any ideas? I would like to start paying off debt and saving money once we get our bills under control
    Also I tried Dave Ramseys budget forms but since our income varies I found it difficult. so any advice or suggestions would be AWESOME~~

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

When you have a variable budget you need to do things a little differently, but not much.

You still need a budget that is prioritized - that means:
    1) Food
    2) Lights
    3) Shelter
    4) Transportation
    5) Clothing (ESSENTIALS ONLY)

Those 5 are always first. You need to figure out how much you must allocate in each area (and clothing only gets enough to keep you in work clothes and non-religious underwear - not holy))

Then you list all your other expenses. You put debt repayment above entertainment (cable, dining out, etc) because if you can't afford to pay your debts at least at the minimums, you need to be out working more jobs not watching TV or spending money in restaurants.

So each payday you get your irregular income and you fill up the envelopes for each category and make a note of how much you put in and when. You fill the top 5 FIRST, every time. When you run out of money, that's it, nobody else on the list gets paid.