Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User dolphin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nevada
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,600
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Question I Just Got An Email...Help!

    The email is from "moreinfo@ebay.com"
    It takes me to a link that looks like ebay sign in screen and asks me for my username and password? Did I finally get a scam email?

    This is the link it said to go to...
    http://www.ebay.com-aw-cgi.usabrain....ngSSL=1&email=

    hmmm, it's obviously a scam as the (usabrain . com ) doesn't appear on the original link.

    What do I need to do to report it?
    "Success on any major scale requires you to accept responsibity."



    The Resident Queen Of Clutter!!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Darlene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    27,967
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Rep Power
    61

    Default

    I wouldn't do it. It's unsoliceted mail and suspect to me.
    ~*Darlene*~
    Live Well~LaughOften~Love Much

    "Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around."
    Leo Buscaglia

    2012 Challenges
    Books Read: 43
    :



    Become a Fan of Frugalvillage on Facebook!

  3. #3
    Registered User couponchic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    2,026
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I had an email in my junk box similar to that from ebay and I'm not even an ebay member yet. So, I would say that it's a scam. I think ebay has a place on their site for you to report such scams.

  4. #4
    Master Dollar Stretcher dz_blonde_girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Age
    49
    Posts
    4,216
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    From the ebay site:

    Report suspicious email
    Help us keep our community safe. If you have any doubt whether an email is from eBay, forward the message to spoof@ebay.com immediately. Don't alter the subject line or forward the message as an attachment - doing so makes it more difficult for us to react quickly.

  5. #5
    Registered User dolphin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nevada
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,600
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Karen, my email automatically sent the message as an attachment. Should I copy and paste the properties and resend it?
    "Success on any major scale requires you to accept responsibity."



    The Resident Queen Of Clutter!!!

  6. #6
    Registered User dolphin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nevada
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,600
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I already got a response from ebay to sit tight till they investigate. Scary thing is there are 5 other email names listed with mine so hoping no one falls for it.

    Thank you.
    "Success on any major scale requires you to accept responsibity."



    The Resident Queen Of Clutter!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Got this in email
    By rudypoo98 in forum Green Living
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 10:33 PM
  2. Just got this in an email.........
    By matt&roxy in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 03:06 AM
  3. is the email down??
    By cmu in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 08:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •