Vacation Time

Thread: Vacation Time

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Default Vacation Time

For those of us that work outside of the home, do you schedule your vacation time (assuming you get vacation days) for when your kids are out of school for the summer, or do you take the family on vacation during the school year?

As a teacher, I'm off when the kids are off, however, we have a lot of parents who plan vacations during the school year when it is cheaper and less crowded at vacation spots.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

the one time we did during the school year - it was be over a long weekend etc so only 1-2 days school was missed but since ours hit high school age we havent really taken them out of school for vacation - the high school really frowns on it .

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

For the most part I use my vacation time for sick child days.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I've been at my job for 21 years so I have ALOT of vacation time.

Big trips I plan for out of school. My son is only 5 so there hasn't been an occasion (yet) where I have pulled him out of school to do something.

I do use a few days for him ie, if he's sick, mommy and me day, holiday party, etc. But I also have enough time where I can take a few scattered days off and use them just for "me". Right now I'm planning a day in the fall as a "me" day to spend the day with a friend while my son is in school.
    Judy

never loose site of the big picture

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

i have quite a bit of "paid time off hours" saved. My vacation is August 1st through the 8th, but this year i am staying in town, going to a concert, out to the country for a couple days etc... I am looking forward to it ! 8 days of no work

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

don't have kids but i do teach high school.

at my school the kids miss 10 days, they have to repeat the class. simply not worth it.