Using the whole apple
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Using the whole apple

My husband loves homemade apple pie. The last few times I've made it for him, I put the peels and cores in an ice cream bucket which I stored in the freezer. A couple of weeks ago I decided I needed to make room in the freezer, so I took out the buckets of peels. I cut the stem and blossom ends off and used the cores and peels to make jelly. The skins have enough pectin in them that I didn't need to buy any extra. I ended up with two jars of apple jelly.

The only thing I hadn't planned on was that oldest dd has been eating the frozen peels as a snack. One of the buckets I took out of the freezer had only cores and a few tiny peels left. Dd had eaten all the rest.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

How do you make apple jelly from the cores and peels? I'm new to this and like the idea of making something yummy out of things I'd otherwise throw away.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

You put the peels and cores in a pot, cover them just barely with water, then cook until mushy. Put this mushy concoction into a muslin lined seive or colander which you then put over another bigger bowl. (You can also put it in a muslin bag, tie it shut, and hang it over a bowl to drip) Allow the juices to drain overnight.

The next day measure how much juice you have. Put an amount of sugar equal to the amount of juice you have in a pot. For instance, if you have 2 cups of juice, then you add 2 cups of sugar. Boil the sugar and juice until it thickens to jelly consistency. It's the right consistency when you place a drop of the jelly on a chilled plate and it doesn't run all over the plate- it just stays in a drop. Then pour into clean jars, seal with lids and rings. Process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

If you are going to use the jelly right away and will be keeping it in the refrigerator, there's no need to process it in the water bath.

4. Remove Advertisements