What do with blackberries & apples?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Question What do with blackberries & apples?

I have a virtually limitless supply of blackberries. I've tried jam before and either end up with syrup (which is tasty on it's own) or a brick. I think it's because I'm not good at following recipes to a T - I like to dink. The other issue is that my dd's won't eat blackberry jam with seeds, so i run it thru the food mill. I think I may loose some pectin. I have successfully made blackberry-honey syrup, but I have WAY more blackberries than we need syrup. Any other suggestions?

As for apples, my neighbor has three trees that she hardly uses. I can think of dried apples, apple sauce and apple butter. What other good ideas do you have?

TIA!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Send the blackberries to me! I just paid 4.20 a quart for them.

Actually, can you maybe sell them or barter them to neighbors for other items you might need? In my area, blackberries are in demand and no one ever has enough.

For the apples, you can make apple pie filling and can it. Or you can make apple pies and freeze the pies for winter use. I also make and freeze apple crisps. Then when I need one for dessert, I just thaw and bake in the oven to heat up. Makes the house smell great too! I also feed them to my goats.
    And of course you could also barter a few bags of them for something else?
    Or post them on free cycle and let someone come and get them.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Re: What do with blackberries & apples?

Originally posted by Valerie in WA
    I have a virtually limitless supply of blackberries. I've tried jam before and either end up with syrup (which is tasty on it's own) or a brick. I think it's because I'm not good at following recipes to a T - I like to dink. The other issue is that my dd's won't eat blackberry jam with seeds, so i run it thru the food mill. I think I may loose some pectin.
    TIA!