Hamburger/Sandwich Buns (bread machine)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Hamburger/Sandwich Buns (bread machine)

This recipe makes soft sandwich buns. I've been using it for several years now and it's the only bun recipe I use. I originally got the recipe here on FV and have tweaked it a little over the years.

Hamburger/Sandwich Buns

1 1/4 c. milk
    1 egg, beaten
    3 3/4 c. bread flour*
    1/4 c. sugar
    3/4 t. salt
    2 T. margarine
    1 1/4 t. yeast

Add ingredients. Set bread machine to dough cycle and select 2 pound setting. When dough cycle is complete, punch down dough on floured surface. Divide into 24 and shape into balls. Cover with clean dish towel and let rise 1 hour on greased cookie sheet in warm place, till doubled. Bake 10-15 minutes till browned top and bottom. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack.

*A mix of 2 c. whole wheat or white whole wheat flour may be subbed for an equal amount of bread flour. If dough it too dry, add water a teaspoon at a time and allow it to mix in before adding more as needed.

My tweaks: I never add salt. Bread does not need it and neither to I. I don't beat the egg, I crack it into the bread case and break the yolk on the paddle, then just swirl around the paddle till it's uniform. I've used runny yogurt, whey, or powdered milk instead of regular milk and it works just fine. I don't put the dough ball out on the counter on flour, but just pinch off blobs of dough after punching down in the bread case, so less mess to clean up. I put a large bowl of hot water in the microwave and then set the cookie sheet with the formed buns on top the bowl, then cover and let rise with micro door shut. That creates a nice environment for the dough to rise.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Thanks so much!! sounds delish!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Looks yummy SD. Would you believe I just thought of rising dough in the microwave after it was warmed up today? Great minds......!