Sourdough starter with bread flour?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Question Sourdough starter with bread flour?

I want to get a starter going, but I'm not sure if I have the flour I need. The store shelves are bare of flour currently, so I only have bleached all-purpose and unbleached bread flour. Can I use the bread flour to safely make the starter?
    Also, if you have a good recipe for it so I'm not making too much, that would be great as well!
    Thanks!
    Tia ~ Slowly Drowning
    DH, Brad married 10/31/07
    Kissa GitanaVirginia RaeKiwi Louise
    Delilah Moon Posie May
    EF $0/$1,000
    Snowball
    CC#1(C1T)$1,444 CC#2(C1T2)$1,774

Truck Loan $7,[email protected]%

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Sourdough does not like me, so I'm no expert. But I think you could try both flours and see what happens, without being out much if it doesn't work.

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Both are fine for feeding your starter and for making bread. You will get better results baking with bread flour and adding a small amount of yeast to the dough when you are ready to bake. I use the AP to feed and bake with bread flour.

Do you have a starter culture or are you hoping to catch a local one in the air? It's much easier to work with a known, robust, starter than something random.
    Stop trying to organize all of your family’s crap. If organization worked for you, you’d have rocked it by now. It’s time to ditch stuff and de-crapify your world.

If you're not using the stuff in your home, get rid of it. You're not going to start using it more by shoving it into a closet.

Use it up, Wear it out,
    Make it do, Or do without. ~unknown

A clean house is a sign of a wasted life. ~unknown

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I will be making my own starter at this point as I don't know anyone that has one personally (not that it's safe currently anyway).