Going back to school..need advice for older students please

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Going back to school..need advice for older students please

Hi there,

I just received my official letter accepting me to college in the Fall. My major is Information Management & Library Technology. I'm excited and scared at the same time.

I know that the average age range for school has risen but I'm in my early 40's and I'm nervous at being the oldest one there. Please nervous about handling the house and school and possibly a parttime job.

My dh will help out as much as possible. He can help clean but is hopeless at cooking so that will be 100% my dept.

So ladies..or Gents. How did/do you manage school, family and a job at the same time.

TIA

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Congratulations!
    There are bound to be some bumps in the road but the journey is well worth it.

Key to staying sane is be super organized. Draw up charts of what your family is to do around the house. Keep a big calendar and EVERY event goes on it. Make it clear that if it isn't on the calendar, it doesn't happen. You need to be able to plan ahead and the family needs to become responsible. Try to organize things around the house to allow easy cleaning, easy laundry, easy meals. Make time to exercise every day. And that's a good time to review for tests. If you go walking, take along your index cards and go over terms, etc. Also find time now and then for something that relaxes you: hot bath, massage, nap.

Lower some of your expectations. Determine where your priority is. If it is getting your education, then let some of your notions of what a clean house or a well balanced meal slip a little. More than likely, no one will be harmed!