To downgrade or not?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default To downgrade or not?

Hi everyone,

Currently I work full time as an assistant manger, I make $14.50 an hour, 40 hour weeks, the pay is great for me. I just DO NOT like the job and the scheduling has me overwhelmed with working sometimes 9 days in a row and makes me feel like I have NO time for anything, including family.

I am contemplating finding a new job (I have an upcoming interview) for a part-time position with less pay I am sure, but it's a job I had 7 years ago and I loved it!

With my budget in mind, I would just need to bring home around $900-$1000 a month to make ends meet with a little left over to save BUT I would have time for family my pets, my home, etc...

Ideas? Thoughts? Opinions?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I'm all for doing what makes you happy. I would maybe want a little more cushion if I was counting on only my income. However there are lots of ways to get a bit of extra cash on the side. Is there anyway if your current job really wanted to keep you they would give you a better schedule that allows more time for your family. I managed a salon years ago and 6 months of working 14 days on 1 off was the reason I stepped down and went PT. It also gave me more time to do the things that saved us $.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I tried talking to my manager and asked about possibly only 4 days a week and she said Asst. Managers are required to work 40. I know I would have a cushion since my DH works as well and I can do stuff on the side without a problem if needed. I just need time for me and the family.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Since your not the only income as long as you can afford it I would do what makes you happy. In my book family comes first. Thats the reason I quit being a salon manager many years ago.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug