antivirus software. I WAS using Norton

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default antivirus software. I WAS using Norton

I got my computer back yesterday after my computer technician rebuilt it.  I had a virus attack that allowed windows to load but nothing else.  The last thing I did before it died completely was to use my PestPatrol to scan for viruses.  It picked up lots of infected ebay files.  So, the conclusion we came to was that I picked up the virus by browsing on ebay. The technician told me he has other compouters waiting to be fixed that show the same symptoms as mine and the owners were also using ebay.

A bit of history - I've had this computer for six months, so it's not an ancient machine.  I was "protected" with Norton Antivirus 2005.  It updated daily, I also updated all the critical Windows updates.  I use Mailwasher for extra email security.  I bought my first computer in 1988 and have had probably 20 computers over the years, so I'm not a novice.

This is my protection system now.  It's all free software (for home use).  AVAST + Microsoft Antispy + ADAware + Spybot 1.4 + XP firewall.  Here is the link to AVAST:

http://www.avast.com/eng/down_home.html

Microsoft Antispy is a Beta version but it's not buggy and it's safe to use, link:

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/secu...e/default.mspx

ADAware and spybot:   http://www.adwarekillers.com/

Mailwasher:  www.mailwasher.net/

I hope the above helps protect you from viruses. 

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I thought maybe you were looking for a program and was going to recommend Avast- I just heard a Consumer Reports minute on XM (radio) and they said Avast was one of the top 3, and it is free. I downloaded 2 days ago, and liked it, but lost internet connectivity so removed it in case it was related.

It is a nice program, though, particularly for free.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Glad you got your PC fixed. I never heard of AVAST but it looks good. Thanks for the info.