1st Semester of Medical School done...but in debt
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default 1st Semester of Medical School done...but in debt

Hey,

This is my first time posting. Quick question. My wife and I are 25 and my wife is currently in medical school and I make roughly 60,000 a year. I'll be done with my student loans at the end of 2013. But we are still bleeding since we are paying for medical school with student loans. I've calculated that it'll take us 6 years to pay off medical school loans assuming my salary for 6 years at 6.8% interest(that is conservative, since I should get a raise soon). Given that amount of time. What is better? Should I pay off those loans medical school loans at the start of 2014 (baby step 2) and work through that or save at least 5000 a year in an IRA and the rest goes to debt?

Look forward to your answers.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

I'm a big proponent of paying off debt first, so I'd go the paying off the medical school loans route first. That's just me.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

This will likely not be a very DR-like answer, but for myself, I would save the $5K in a Roth IRA and take a little longer to pay back the loans. Just because compound interest on the IRA will net you (likely) a lot more in the end then the interest lost by paying back the loans that little bit more slower. $5K/yr is only 8% of your current income and I can't imagine it is that much compared to the student loans total. If you post the amount of the student loans, I'm sure Greebo can do some wonderful magical calculations to show you the difference in payoff time vs. interest paid vs. interest potentially earned.