Soliciting opinions on car purchase
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Soliciting opinions on car purchase

Hello everyone,

I am new to Frugal Village but very glad I've found it! I hope everyone's Sunday is off to a great start. I am a follower of Dave Ramsey's Total Money Makeover principles and am truly blessed to have stumbled upon it quite by accident years ago.

I am in a very blessed position in that I am about to be able to upgrade my car without incurring a car payment. I am looking to put myself in an SUV as the higher seating will be good for my back, and the all wheel drive will be good for the commuting I do. I'm not looking to put myself in anything terribly high end, but by definition, a new car is a high end thing

I am struggling mightily with spending so much money on a purchase for myself. I am debt free, I save 15% per month and tithe at least 10% per month. I have one year's emergency in savings. I participate in adopt a family and other efforts several times per year. But I have the nagging feeling that this money for the car could go to the greater good. I am going to pray on it and ask my personal advisory board for some input, but what does everyone think?

Thank you for your time.

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

If higher seating to ease back pain is the goal, then shop around a lot before you settle on a SUV. My experience with new cars only 2 years ago is that many vehicles now have that kind of seating, cheaper and more fuel efficient vehicles than the average SUV.
    Stop trying to organize all of your family’s crap. If organization worked for you, you’d have rocked it by now. It’s time to ditch stuff and de-crapify your world.

If you're not using the stuff in your home, get rid of it. You're not going to start using it more by shoving it into a closet.

Use it up, Wear it out,
    Make it do, Or do without. ~unknown