Should I buy my townhome?!
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Should I buy my townhome?!

Hey there! First forum post... I’ll get right to it.
    I’ve been renting a townhome for 4 years and now my landlord is selling the property. She asked if I’d like to buy for 78K when she’d list it for 82K.

I’m completely debt free.
    I have 6 months of expenses in an emergency fund.
    Annual take home pay-$85,000

Here’s the caveat... there is an HOA fee of around $265/mo that is making me hesitate.

It’s in a growing area of San Antonio, TX
    2 bed/2.5 bath 1,250 sqft

If I purchase, I’d pay it off ASAP and would like to do renovations to eventually either rent or sell.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

If I purchase, I’d pay it off ASAP and would like to do renovations to eventually either rent or sell.
    If you like the condo and would like to continue living there, it sounds like a good plan to buy it. The loan on a $72k 30 year loan would be about $375/m. And the HOA ($375) covers the insurance, taxes, exterior maintenance - your monthly payment would be about $650.

As for prepaying the loan, I would avoid that. Loans cost about 4%/yr, that is very cheap use of capital - instead of spending your money to prepay a 4% loan, invest your money where it will earn more than 4%.
    As for renovations - they will be a loss to you. Eg, if you spend $25,000 to update the interior, it will add only about $10k to the appraised value, ie, you will lose $15k. Far better to sell it 'as is'. In general, spend only what you will get to enjoy personally (with the knowledge that you will lose that money when you sell it).

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug