Work remote option to get out of high rent area?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Work remote option to get out of high rent area?

Hi there, just signed up here, and recently started watching Dave Ramsey videos. Should have years ago, it would have saved us major duhmazzery as we are now 30K in debt, some of it being dragged behind us for years. I'll spare you details as it would be a TL;DR situation. but in a nutshell, we certainly didn't have a realistic idea of our spending habits for a long time for sure.

Current situation is that we live and work in a very expensive area of Southern California, and we've been renting for the past 10 years. Our rent is relatively low for the area, 1700 for a one bedroom older apartment (with a rash of problems in the complex that keep getting worse.)

Hubs is in IT with a salary of 95K, and I used to work as a waitress until too many times to the Physical Therapist from head to toe under workers comp, and while I'd like to go back to restaurant work but my body won't let me. Recently took up Ubering, and my hubby signed up as well.

For now, we recently paid off the second car and per Dave's suggestion, starting to build an emergency fund, (so we don't put the "unexpecteds" on a card) and Hubs put a stop to paying into his 401K. We're living much more frugally than we used to. (ha ha... actually can't believe the unnecessary spending going on when I worked. I've become a very good cook now!)

So now we're looking at the option of moving to a lower cost of living area. Most of the staff in my husband's office are working remote now and one even moved to Georgia, and we're thinking of doing something similar, just very nervous about the idea.