Frugal Village Forums banner

A new chapter - moving in 12-18 months!

13K views 98 replies 12 participants last post by  my4littlebuffaloes 
#1 ·
Been a while since I've been on here...life has been hectic to say the least! I graduated from college in May and have my dream job lined up to begin in early October (in AK). :)

That said, Dh and I are planning for me to put in for a transfer with my company approximately a year after starting (so, next fall; give or take a few months - I'll be watching for openings). We have friends who have worked for the company before and all have had good experiences both with the company, and with putting in for (and receiving) a transfer, within a year of beginning work. We're planning to move to Indianapolis, Indiana. Dh's immediate family lives there, including his grandma, and I have several cousins in the area, as well. We're excited about the decision!! :D

After both being born and raised up here, we would both love to move to the lower 48 for further opportunities for Dh in his field (it's really time now, but I need time in my position here before we go).

We've decided that after hearing of so many stresses regarding moving costs, and the process in general, we would like to begin planning, paring down, and getting our "financial house" prepared for the move.

No fixed move date (obviously), but by our best estimations it could be as early as mid-summer '15, but likely in the October to December '15 time frame.