Homeschooling and groups
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Wink Homeschooling and groups

In response to one of the previous threads I though I would give me two cents worth......

We haven't belonged to a homeschool group for years and years... (I have been homeschooling for 12 years now!!!). I think divisions and differences are normal in many group situations and not unique to homeschooling but I remember being very distressed when issues arose in our group. I found that many members were quick to judge.

We are all human (yes, even homeschoolers LOL) and even Christians are sinners! And so in any group there will be those that are easy to love and those that aren't.

I needed help at the very beginning of our homeschool journey and after that no longer belonged to any group because I found that homeschoolers can be a very insecure group of individuals (they are always having to justify themselves, to the government, to family, friends, even strangers....so they are often "on guard"). If a family doesn't do EXACTLY what another family does, the more insecure "family" will often start questioning and enouraging you to follow "their way".

I sat on the fence so many times watching dicussions (sometimes heated) about unschooling VS classical VS workbooks VS Charlotte Mason and on and on...

I quickly came to the conclusion that every familie's needs are unique. Every child's needs are unique. Everyone (incl. the parents) learn differently. And the more you try and "group" people the less successful homeschooling is. The ability to customize the learning experience is exactly what makes homeschooling SO successful!

I am even now reluctant to say what my "style" is because someone will take offense because it isn't the same as theirs.

I actually have found the typical responses (here I go grouping LOL) to our homeschooling experience. For a little background.