new age envelope system
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default new age envelope system

i'm new to the envelope system and to budgeting in general. the only problem i have is that most of my bills (except rent) are paid on line. currently, this is what i did:

1) weekly pay check, i take the x amount for rent and put it in 2nd checking account (i have 2 checking accounts, 1 for bills/gas, the 2nd one for rent). i do this every week, so at the end of the month, i have full amount for rent. then i write check at the end of the month and send it. works great because the money is out of sight and we are not spending the funds in the primary checking account.

2) i take out x amount for food budget every week in cash and stuff it in an envelope and keep it with me at all times. i go grocery shopping once a week. if i have left over money, that x amount will be used to eat out.

3) i asked my credit union if i could open more checking accounts and they said no. i would like to have up to 8 checking accounts so that i can "stuff" those accounts and use the funds as needed, just like the old fashioned envelope system but online. i called wells fargo, and they charge a $30 dollar fee a month unless there is a balance of $24k in account =( .

does anyone know of a bank that allows however many checking accounts with no fees or required balances?

how do you all do the envelope system when paying bills online?

thanks!
    =) b

TDN
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

For me having that many checking accounts would be a nightmare! I like things as simple as possible. We have one checking account. I use a cheap ol notebook and pen and have separate categories, in columns. These columns amounts are not recorded into the check book. If I pay an insurance bill I subtract it from the insurance column in my notebook. So to balance the checkbook I do have to add in the balances in my columns but it is easy and always comes out right.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug