Frugal Advice

Thread: Frugal Advice

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Smile Frugal Advice

Hi all,
    I'm new to this, so I'm not sure if I'm doing it ok!
    I'm not sure how to start too become more frugal. I started back at work 12 months ago. It's taken us that that long to finally get on top of our finances. What I'm finding hard is having enough money when a lot of bills come in at once.
    Cheers, jackie

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Hey Jackie, first of all welcome. Have you tried some kind of budgetting? It would be making a scheme of money coming in and going out during a month and personally I found it helpful in getting an overview. For an explanation on how to use a budget: https://www.frugalvillage.com/forums/...beginners.html. I doubt I will be able to explain it better/more detailed than in the link above. This is part of the Dave Ramsey system, see the forum on the village for more info about that. I hope I was able to help you at least a little .

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Jackie just keep reading you will find a lot of help here at tv.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Budget budget budget. If the bills all seem to be due at once, change some billing dates. Use cash envelopes to curb overspending. Do you have an emergency fund?

Stick around here, join some challenges, ask questions. You will learn lots.

Welcome!

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Your bills come every month. Look over the last several months to get an idea of how much each one is. Note when the due dates are. It's usually the same every month. Get a calendar or monthly planner and write it down. Now you can see at a glance how much has to come out of your check every week to pay the bills. You'll be able to see that if you don't have bills due this week you still have to save $ because there are 4 due the following week.