What has been your best "SCROUNGE" deal, or stroke of luck Freebie??

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default What has been your best "SCROUNGE" deal, or stroke of luck Freebie??

We have two huge scrounge deals - I have been a professional scrounger most of my life - I can always see the beauty at the dumpster!!

We were able to collect for free over a very short time 170 sheets of 3/4" thick particle board in 6X 10 foot sheets - we have insulated and tacked up this particle board on every wall in our basement and are putting sheet rock over it - we have raised the temperature in the basement (before we pumped the heat down there) by 40º!!! Bruce is a trucker and they use these sheets for pallets and then just throw them away!! we can still get them and will be insulating the barn this way next.

The other big thing we got for free was enough ranching fence and chain link fence to surround 15 acres for pasture and make a corral and two chicken areas, a duck area, and a dog run. And we still have more rolls of chainlink!!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Nothing in ages. However before 1999 Dh worked as a garbage man. He brought home a vcr in a box, a tv, tons of cool toys, boxes of paperback books, bottles of full soap. It was great! Plus when Miller had a thing where you saved points we got enough salvaged points for a shirt, a jacket, a blanket and a chair.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Let's see:

$30 just laying in the ditch- found while we were picking up aluminum cans to recycle for cash! That was equal to a LOT of cans.

My aunt was going to take my uncle's car to the junk yard after he died- she didn't need 2 cars and she couldn't sell it in MO due to a small crack in the windshield. We took it and drove it for over 5 years before it finally died.