Frugal spring salad ideas?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Default Frugal spring salad ideas?

I'd love to hear some spring salad ideas that everyone finds to be economical, regardless of the country you live in.

We're firing up the grill this week and I would LOVE to hear some ideas on what to serve with items like burgers, grilled meats like chicken and pork, etc.

I know about potato salad, coleslaw and pasta salad, but I'm looking for more ideas. I also love macaroni salad but very few of us will actually eat it. We'd do Caesar salad too but I'm not sure if the cost is worth it.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I love to grill veggies. Right now I can get green zucchini pretty cheap. I cut it lengthwise so it's in log strips. Then I marinate it for 30 minutes and throw them on the grill.

Zucchini marinade (sorry, I'm an eye-ball it cook):
    -olive oil
    -balsamic vinegar
    -season salt
    -black pepper
    -adobo seasoning

If I can get Portobello mushrooms, I'll grill those too. If not, I just get the big regular mushrooms. I grill them upside down and put some mozarella cheese on top to melt and just sprinkle some seasoning over it

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by MomToTwoBoys View Post
    We'd do Caesar salad too but I'm not sure if the cost is worth it.
    How do you figure this? I find caesar salad is pretty cheap, lettuce, croutons (which we usually skip) and dressing with a light sprinkle of parmesan. I do a lot of these when tomatoes get up to $3-4 a pound. I also make my own dressing for pennies.

This looks like a good recipe: Caesar Salad Recipe

There's some up front costs with the anchovy and parmesan, but you use so little and it lasts in the fridge forever.
    Stop trying to organize all of your family’s crap. If organization worked for you, you’d have rocked it by now. It’s time to ditch stuff and de-crapify your world.