Back on the Wagon
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Default Back on the Wagon

I'm the first to admit that when times are good, I let up a bit on my frugal habits. I never give them up completely, but I do lighten up a bit and may spend a bit more than usual.

This fall, however, it's time to get back on the frugal wagon, whole-heartedly. No more slacking. In fact, I need to be working harder than ever to save, save, save.

First of all, I'm taking a 1.5% pay cut. I'm a public school teacher in NJ, and this is one of the many changes that Chris Christie has implemented in public education in NJ. We are also in a negotiating year, and Christie has also put a cap on what we can negotiate, so it is entirely possible that our new contract will have no raise in it, or may be more of a cut, so I don't know for sure what I'll be making in the coming three years.

Secondly, we finally sold our old house and purchased a new home. However, the new house did cost more than the old one, and our mortgage payment has gone up. Our new payment is about $3,300 per month! We used to pay a ton extra on our old mortgage, so we can, luckily do this, as we were doing it on the old house, but unfortunately, this is the base payment, with no extra going to principal.

Third, we were looking forward to DS2 going to kindergarten so we wouldn't have to make a daycare payment anymore, but we were blessed and surprised with DS3 last February, so daycare it is, again. However, this is a home daycare, so we are only paying $800 per month, as opposed to the $1300 we were paying for DS2 at nursery school, so technically, we are saving about $500 there.