How do you decide how much is enough to save for retirement?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Default How do you decide how much is enough to save for retirement?

My husband and I have both been contributing to a retirement fund at work for quite a while now. Since we finished paying off our debts, we planned to increase the amount we are giving.

It seems to come down to whether we want more to spend now or in retirement. Or maybe somewhere in between.

Have other people thought about that?
    KathyB

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I'm no expert, but I think the figure is about 4% for withdrawals. In other words, if you have $100,000 in retirement savings, you should count on $4000 a year as what you can safely take out of that savings.
    Make America Kind Again.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

4% would decrease each yr as the principal decreases due to the withdrawals.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I meant 4% would be less money per yr, not a lower percentage.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

The idea is that it you earn 4 percent of interest each year. You live off the interest so the money lasts indefinitely.

I have heard the numbers before.

I am thinking about it from a different perspective. Financially you would break even if you lived 25 years after retirement. This is a gamble because I don't know how long I will live. If I live a really long time I get more total money. But if I live less than 25 years after retirement I lose money.

Of course this is really, really oversimplifying it. You have to think about inflation, differing tax rates, possible stock market crash, possible stock market boom, etc.